TLP:CLEAR · Disclosure is not limited.
Sudan Situation Report, 18 October 2026
Time window: Last 7 days · Audience: General analyst · Type: Situation report · DTG: 2026-10-18 22:06Z · Overall confidence: MEDIUM
BLUF
New reporting adds casualty detail for drone attacks in Sanaqit, West Darfur, and at a livestock market in Nyala, but the Nyala strike's target and attribution remain unresolved. Famine risk and medicine-supply pressures remain acute, while diplomatic statements and planned Geneva consultations have not produced a reported truce.
Executive summary
Reported: A drone strike in Sanaqit on 17 October killed at least 10 people and wounded five, according to local media. A medical source cited by AFP reported 30 killed and 47 wounded in a drone attack on a livestock market in Nyala; the Sudanese army said it struck RSF command centres, while the RSF said the market was hit. Separately, reports describe civilian deaths from army drone strikes in Ghubeish and El-Nuhud, West Kordofan, and a strike on traders' vehicles in Kerennec, North Darfur. The UK says more than 33 million people need humanitarian assistance. The IPC warned of increasing famine risk in Darfur and the Kordofans, and the National Medicines and Poisons Board reported that only eight of 30 pharmaceutical factories in Khartoum have resumed operations. Assessment: Drone-related civilian risk and humanitarian strain are likely to persist. UK and Pakistani statements, and planned Geneva consultations, indicate continuing diplomatic activity but do not establish agreement by the Sudanese parties.
Change from previous assessment
Since the prior brief on 18 October, new reporting adds a 17 October civilian casualty report from Sanaqit and medical-source casualty figures for the Nyala livestock-market strike. Confidence that the Nyala strike caused civilian casualties is now medium rather than low, but confidence on its target and attribution remains low to medium because the SAF and RSF accounts conflict and independent site verification is not reported. This brief also adds reporting on detention in El Geneina, worsening conditions in El Tine, pharmaceutical supply losses and al-Burhan's stated commitment to US-sponsored peace efforts. The prior assessment that no truce agreement was reported remains unchanged.
Key judgments
- Drone strikes are likely to remain a civilian hazard in Darfur and Kordofan over the next 1-3 months. Reports describe at least 10 people killed and five wounded in Sanaqit, West Darfur, on 17 October; 30 killed and 47 wounded at a livestock market in Nyala; 16 civilians killed in strikes in Ghubeish and El-Nuhud, West Kordofan; and one person killed and more than five wounded when a drone struck traders' vehicles in Kerennec, North Darfur. The reported perpetrators differ by incident and remain unverified in some cases. Confidence is medium because reporting spans major and local media, but several casualty and attribution claims lack independent confirmation. (Confidence: medium · ASSESSED)
- I&W: Confirm: A hospital, local emergency room or major-media report verifies additional drone-caused civilian casualties in Sanaqit, Nyala, Kerennec, Ghubeish or El-Nuhud. (0-14 days)
- I&W: Break: Reporting records 14 consecutive days without drone attacks or verified drone-caused civilian casualties in those named areas. (0-14 days)
- A drone strike likely hit the livestock market in Nyala and caused substantial casualties, but reporting does not settle whether the market was the intended target or whether RSF command centres were also hit. A medical source cited by AFP reported 30 deaths and 47 injuries; the Sudanese army said it destroyed RSF command-and-control centres, and the RSF said the market was hit. Confidence is medium: major-media reporting cites a medical source, while the accounts of the target conflict and independent site verification is not reported. (Confidence: medium · REPORTED)
- I&W: Confirm: Independent geolocated imagery or medical records place the impact at the Nyala livestock market and substantiate the reported casualty figures. (0-14 days)
- I&W: Break: An independent site assessment finds damage only at the army-identified command centres and no strike damage or casualties at the market. (0-30 days)
- Control near Bir Siliba is likely to remain contested in the near term, but the available reporting does not establish a broad shift in territorial control across Darfur. A local-media report says the Joint Force took Bir Siliba on 5 October while clashes continued nearby; separate local-media reporting says the RSF controls most of Darfur. Confidence is low because the specific account of control and nearby clashes comes from a single local-media source, without independent confirmation. (Confidence: low · ASSESSED)
- I&W: Confirm: New reporting identifies clashes around Bir Siliba or independently verifies Joint Force control of the town while fighting continues nearby. (0-30 days)
- I&W: Break: Independent reporting establishes uncontested control of Bir Siliba and no clashes in the surrounding area for 30 consecutive days. (0-2 months)
- Food insecurity and access to medicines are likely to worsen in Darfur and the Kordofans over the next 1-3 months. The IPC warned of increasing famine risk, and the International Rescue Committee reported famine-threshold acute malnutrition among children in two displacement camps in South Darfur. El Tine's emergency council reported food insecurity, water shortages, livestock deaths, disease outbreaks and failing health services. National reporting says more than 33 million people need assistance, war-related losses to the pharmaceutical supply system are estimated at $500 million, and only eight of 30 pharmaceutical factories in Khartoum have resumed operations. Confidence is medium: the warnings draw on official, humanitarian and media reporting, but conditions and trends are not documented uniformly across locations. (Confidence: medium · ASSESSED)
- I&W: Confirm: An IPC or International Rescue Committee update reports worsening famine indicators in Darfur or the Kordofans, or El Tine's emergency council reports further loss of water or health services. (1-3 months)
- I&W: Break: An IPC update lowers famine-risk assessments and El Tine's emergency council reports restored water and health services. (1-3 months)
- International diplomatic engagement is likely to continue over the next month, but current statements do not establish an SAF-RSF truce. The UK called for a humanitarian truce, permanent ceasefire and civilian-led political process, and welcomed planned Geneva consultations. Pakistan called for a Sudanese-led process and said the conflict cannot be resolved militarily. Abdel Fattah al-Burhan also stated his commitment to US-sponsored peace efforts. Confidence is medium because the statements are directly reported, but they do not demonstrate agreement or implementation by the Sudanese parties. (Confidence: medium · ASSESSED)
- I&W: Confirm: The Geneva consultations produce a public outcome statement or name a follow-up meeting. (0-1 month)
- I&W: Break: The SAF and RSF issue matching written acceptance of a truce with an implementation date. (0-1 month)
Outlook & scenarios
Continued attrition and humanitarian pressure (65%)
SAF operations near el-Obeid and reported drone attacks in Darfur and Kordofan continue, while the RSF retains control of most of Darfur. Civilian exposure and pressure on food and medicine access persist, with no truce agreement reported.
Localised escalation in Darfur (25%)
Further drone attacks around Nyala, Sanaqit or Kerennec, alongside clashes near Bir Siliba, increase civilian casualties and displacement. Conflicting claims about targets and perpetrators remain a barrier to a settled account of individual incidents.
Limited diplomatic opening (20%)
The Geneva consultations produce a follow-up process or a written humanitarian truce. This would mark a change from the current position, where UK and Pakistani calls for diplomacy are not matched by a reported agreement between the Sudanese parties.
Low-probability chemical-weapons finding (5%)
A technical investigation substantiates allegations of chemical-weapons use by the Sudanese army. This is an unlikely but high-impact path: current reporting describes allegations and calls for an independent investigation and OPCW access, not verified use.
Recommendations
- Maintain separate records for strike occurrence, target, perpetrator and casualty figures. Seek hospital or emergency-room corroboration for the Nyala and Sanaqit reports before treating attribution or totals as confirmed.
- Prioritise incident monitoring in Nyala, Sanaqit, Kerennec, Ghubeish, El-Nuhud, el-Obeid and the area around Bir Siliba. Record whether reporting identifies a named source, a specific site and independently checkable evidence.
- Track IPC and International Rescue Committee updates, conditions in El Tine and the South Darfur displacement camps, and changes in pharmaceutical factory operations in Khartoum. Distinguish national assistance estimates from local conditions.
- Record the outcome of the Geneva consultations and any subsequent SAF or RSF commitments separately from mediator statements. Treat a truce as established only when the parties state its terms and implementation date.
- Keep chemical-weapons allegations explicitly labelled as allegations unless an independent technical investigation verifies them. Track whether Port Sudan authorities grant the requested OPCW access.
Confidence & uncertainty
Overall confidence is medium. Official UK reporting, major-media accounts and humanitarian reporting support the broad picture of civilian risk, famine exposure and continuing diplomatic activity. Confidence is lower on specific strike attribution and territorial control: some casualty reports rely on anonymous or local sources, competing accounts of the Nyala strike remain unresolved, and the Bir Siliba control report lacks independent confirmation.
Intelligence gaps
- [EEI 1.1 · PARTIAL] Observed concentrations and movement of armed units (size estimates, unit identifiers if visible) within X km of named towns/roads/airfields (e.g., El Fasher, Geneina, Nyala, Khartoum neighborhoods) including timestamps and direction of movement. Recommended collection: imagery/satellite
- [EEI 1.3 · PARTIAL] Reports or intercepts of orders, operational directives or public statements from RSF/SAF commanders indicating planned offensives, ceasefire acceptance/rejection, defensive postures or orders to withdraw from named locations. Recommended collection: signals/communications intercepts
- [EEI 1.4 · UNCOVERED] Status of critical infrastructure and lines of communication: control or denial of named bridges, main highways (identify route numbers), airfields, fuel depots and telecommunication hubs and any reported sabotage/blockage incidents. Recommended collection: human intelligence/field reporting
- [EEI 2.1 · PARTIAL] Counts and locations of newly displaced persons arriving at formal sites, informal camps, border crossings or collective centers (daily/weekly arrivals, site coordinates), including demographics (women, children, elderly) where available. Recommended collection: humanitarian/UN OCHA reports
- [EEI 2.2 · PARTIAL] Access impediments to humanitarian assistance: reported attacks on, blockages of, or denial of passage for named humanitarian convoys (dates, GPS locations, responsible actor if known) and closure status of specific routes. Recommended collection: human intelligence/field reporting
- [EEI 2.3 · PARTIAL] Functional status of medical infrastructure in named locations: number of operational hospitals/clinics, reported shortages of key medicines/blood, and hospital casualty/occupancy figures for the last 72 hours. Recommended collection: medical/health cluster reporting
- [EEI 3.1 · UNCOVERED] Detection of flights, ships or overland convoys delivering military materiel or foreign personnel to named airfields, ports or border crossings (flight/IMO numbers, manifests if available, timestamps, route origin/destination). Recommended collection: air-traffic / maritime / border customs
- [EEI 3.2 · UNCOVERED] Imagery or on-the-ground confirmation of foreign military personnel or private military contractor bases/forward operating elements at specified coordinates or compounds, including vehicle/weapon types observed. Recommended collection: imagery/satellite
- [EEI 3.3 · PARTIAL] Financial and sanctions-relevant indicators: atypical large transfers, use of designated front companies, or shipments routed through third states linked to procurement of weapons or fuel for RSF or SAF (transaction dates, parties, amounts where obtainable). Recommended collection: financial intelligence
Red cell review: CONCUR WITH COMMENT
TLP:CLEAR